Stir Fry Vegetables with Brown Rice

This blog is no longer in use.  Please head over to my new site:  IamAlisonM.com

Who doesn’t love a good stir fry??  Well, other than Mr. M. But more on that later.  I’m always up for some soy sauce and broccoli over rice and finally found the perfect combination of fresh ingredients.  Finally.  As in, I stir fry once a week for three weeks, then take a break for a couple and start again.

We invited a friend of ours over for dinner at the beginning of Lent.  I knew he was doing the Daniel Fast so I wanted to cook something accordingly.  I went to daniel-fast.com and was happy to find a few main course dishes. I actually made cauliflower curry stew that night, but the moment I saw ginger listed in the stir fry I knew I had to try it too.  The original recipe calls for a lot of vegetables.  I highly recommend using a wok.  It worked out alright in my frying pan, but things got a bit messy!  Everything but the water chestnuts and peas were included, though the greens and beans can be left out if you want to keep it easy.

Garlic, ginger, and green onions sauteeing...the most mouth-watering aroma!

Ginger and I are long-time friends.  We go way back to the day I decided natural living is for me.  I’m going to dedicate a post to that day because it transformed my entire way of thinking and lead me to a much healthier life.  Now that my friend ginger has made it into cooking…whoa.  Such an incredibly fresh flavor!

But the surprising pièce de résistance?  Almonds!!  We, like ginger, are good buddies.  And again, my little friend took cooking to a whole new level.  The final texture is perfection!

Serve it over brown rice.  Or brown Texmati, still my rice of choice.  Make it for dinner tonight, it will change your life!*

Judges’ Ruling:

Mr. M:  I just don’t like stir fry.
Little V:  Can I have peanut butter jelly bread?
Baby D:  pppppfffffffbbllllpppppp

Boo to them.

*Okay, so it won’t change your life.  Make it anyway.

6 thoughts on “Stir Fry Vegetables with Brown Rice

  1. This looks so good– I am going to make it today for dinner! Did you add tofu or just have the vegetables?

    • Just vegetables. Yum! If I was to add another protein, it would probably be chickpeas. But the texture as the recipe is written was *perfect.* Let me know how it turns out 🙂

      • I just made it for me and my friend and it was UH-mazing. Yum, yum thank you! And I have tons of leftovers. Seems like the secret was how much protein is in it because it really filled me up.

      • Glad you liked it! That website has a few de-lish looking recipes. I’m hoping to try some more out. Love me some meat-free dishes.

  2. I am going to try this! My daughter LOVES stir fry, but I am like your hubby. I don’t really like it either. But I am trying! Maybe I just need to find one I like to change my mind and this could be it!
    Thanks Alison! And thanks to the link about the Daniel fast-I’m going to research that too!

    • I think that too many stir fries depend on a sauce. This one is brilliant because it’s not weighed down. Let me know if you like it!

Leave a Reply

