Blue Green?

This blog is no longer in use,
but you can find
this post and many more on my new site:  IamAlisonM.com

Since posting the looks as laid out in Eye on Pure Color, I’ve made it my mission to try out more combinations for a blue green shadow look.  I’ve specifically used shade 10 from the palette in hopes of making it less scary.  Remember, people, I’m still getting used to color.  It’s been about a year now since I started integrating more than brown and purple into my collection and I’ve made it pretty far.  Blues, pastels, teals…they are the hardest.  But I think the following will show that I’m bound and determined to conquer them!

The first face I put together was “safe.”  I used a cream shadow to deepen shade 10.  I know…I’m such a cheater!  If that’s not bad enough, I used a cool brown in my crease and under my lower lashes to really push it to the neutral edge.  But I wanted to ease my way into it to gain some confidence.

Eyes:  Maybelline Color Tattoo in Audacious Asphalt (base), shade 10 (lid); Sonia Kashuk Prepping for the Party shade 5 (crease, lower lash line); inner corner and highlight..ummm??

Cheeks:  Sonia Kashuk Illuminating Bronzer; theBalm Frat Boy

Lips:  Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Demure

Looking back (this was a few days ago and I’ve tried numerous looks since) I look at this picture and think, “Awww, so cute thinking that was adventurous!”  Because….

BAM!

What?!  Yeah, that just happened.  And now I’m patting myself on the back.

This time (like a smart little girl) I stuck to the Eye on Pure Color palette.  The shades really are meant to go together and any combination would work.

Face:  Laura Geller Real Deal Concealer in Medium; Sonia Kashuk Oil Mattifier, Luminous Foundation in Buff, and Bare Minimum Pressed Powder in Translucent Medium

Eyes:  UDPP; NYX Shadow Base in white; Eye on Pure Color from left to right: shade 7, 10, and 11 on lid, 11 on lower lashline, and 3 on browbone; Sonia Kashuk Arch Alert on brows; Maybelline Colossal mascara; and Pixi Eye Bright liner on waterline

Cheeks:  Sonia Kashuk Illuminating Bronzer, Beautifying Blush in Lilly (such a great go-to shade…go buy it.  The bronzer too.)

Lips:  Sonia Kashuk (Notice a trend?  The woman is brilliant.) Lip Crayon in Blossomy Nude and Lip Gloss in Whisper (just a tiny bit)

This is my ultimate Ocean Breeze look.  It’s spring-y.  It’s summer-y.  It’s bright!

5 thoughts on “Blue Green?

  1. I’m so proud of your for trying out bright colors– I can’t. I’m such a whimp. Do you know the make up artist Lisa Eldridge? She did a great tutorial on how to use bright pastels and recommended layering with a neutral shade, so it does seem that you are right on target. Check her out– she’s on youtube.

    • I’m hereby daring you to buy the palette. It makes color soooo easy! Her guides in the back of it take out all the guess work.

Leave a Reply

