Eggplant and Prosciutto Rollatini

This week at my grocery store, eggplant was on sale.  I don’t have many recipes for eggplant, but I’ve always been intrigued.  And now that I’ve cooked with it a few times I can say that in my master-of-the-kitchen-in-training opinion, eggplant is weird.

But, here are some fun facts on this beloved vegetarian substitute for a variety of meat options:

  1. Eggplant is a fruit.  The seeds are on the inside, y’all.
  2. To take it a step further, it’s classified as a berry.  (Who’d’a thunk?)
  3. It is an excellent source of potassium.

So what did I cook with this over-sized berry?  Eggplant and Prosciutto Rollatini (click here for link on Allrecipes.com)  As with most recipes, I start with something another person created and then make it my own out of necessity (“I surely don’t have that in my kitchen”) or for taste (“Absolutely no way I’m eating that”).  If you look at the original recipe, you’ll see I did change things up a bit.  For both reasons.

Ingredients:

  • 1 eggplant, peeled and cut lengthwise into 1/4″ slices
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 cup bread crumbs
  • 1 Tbsp Italian blend seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • olive oil
  • 1 cup ricotta cheese
  • 10 slices prosciutto
  • 14 ounces Organic Bertolli Olive Oil, Basil, Garlic sauce
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 box of bow tie pasta (Bows are fun. End of story.)

Directions:

  1. Mix bread crumbs, Italian seasoning, and garlic.  (Ooo, just realized how yummy this would be with some grated Parmesan too.) Dip eggplant slices in egg, then coat with bread crumb mix.  Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high.  Fry eggplant on each side until golden-brown.  Remove to a paper rowel lined plate to drain.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  3. Spread a thin layer of ricotta cheese onto each slice of eggplant.  Pace a slice of prosciutto on each.  Roll up tightly and place seam side down in a 9×13 inch baking dish.  Pour pasta sauce over the rolls and top with shredded cheese.
  4. Bake for 15 minutes in the preheated oven until cheese is melted and lightly browned.
  5. While eggplant rolls are baking, boil a large pot of lightly salted water and cook pasta.
  6. Serve eggplant and sauce over pasta.

I’d love to make this again.  Without the prosciutto it’s a hearty vegetarian option, especially for anyone who’s looking to lessen the number of meaty meals every week.  (Ding ding ding!  The M’s are doing just that!)

Judges’ ruling?

Mr. M:  “Maybe if I eat it fast, the ricotta won’t make me gag.”
Little V:  “It’s like pizza.”  O.o
Baby D:  “Badadaaa mmmmmmmm (some tongue clicking here) aaaadaaaaaaa.”

(It’s been added to my collection.)

4 thoughts on “Eggplant and Prosciutto Rollatini

  1. This looks so delicious! I love all of those ingredients. And super cute how you put the kids’ reactions! I’m sitting at my desk going, “Awwwwwww!” and my coworker thinks I’m nuts.

    • Hahahaha, nuts is good. That way people leave you alone 😉 I love how my family is always good for a laugh…we definitely like to keep it real around here.

Leave a Reply

