How to: Skin Care

Recently I was asked to create a post on how I do at-home facials.  I was rather excited about it until I realized that most of my skin care is done a daily basis and isn’t a full “facial” per se.  So I thought I would share what works for me.

Every morning should start with a fresh face.  Each product I use works well for combination skin.  My main concerns are:  preventing oil, cleaning and shrinking pores on my nose, and preventing the signs of aging.  I also have dry lips so I exfoliate them with a wet toothbrush every morning after brushing my pearly whites and immediately apply Burt’s Bees Kokum Butter Lip Balm (not pictured).

Just because you wash at night, doesn’t mean you’ve woken up clean.  It’s quite the opposite, actually.  Your skin works hard at night to refresh itself, so in addition to cleansing, you should exfoliate gently every morning.  This is done after cleansing and before toning.  Be sure to only use a product that is meant for daily use.  Jojoba beads are my ingredient of choice and I tend to avoid products containing nuts (e.g. walnuts) because they can cause micro-tears in skin.  However, a couple times a week I use a heavier (less gentle) product for a microdermabrasion treatment that really takes off the old layers (yes, that includes almonds…again, it’s not for every day).

For best results… Be sure to cleanse your face at the end of a hot shower to let the steam open your pores.  Then use your scrub.  I’m always glowing after!

At the end of a hard day’s work I first remove my eye makeup, then use a wet towelette to remove the majority of my face makeup (neither pictured).  Then I carry on with my nightly routine.

When makeup is off, it’s time to clean up with cleanser and toner.  I’m admittedly a bit young for anti-aging products, but I’d rather prevent than treat so this is my next step.  I follow with some eye cream (more at night than in the morning) and a night cream over my entire face and neck.  Don’t skip your neck…it ages as fast as your eyes!  The restorative serum and night cream pictured here are brand new to me.  I can’t speak to the specifics of these two products yet, but the key is to find something that targets your skin type and stick with it.  I’m most excited about these two products because they are meant to help skin’s regeneration and hard work while you sleep.

A few more steps…  On facial days I switch things up a bit.  First I cleanse.  Then I microwave two cups of water in a glass measuring cup until hot and steamy.  I hold my face nose over the cup and steam it for five minutes.  I quickly apply a Biore nose strip before my pores have a chance to cool down and close up.  After the nose strip is off, I head to the shower and pick up at the microdermabrasion step.  After toning I use Sally Hansen’s Creme Hair Remover Kit on my upper lip and move on to moisturizing.

This may seem like a lot of work, but it only takes about 2 1/2 minutes a day:  30 seconds for washing (over-cleansing is possible), and 1 minute for scrubbing.  Toning and moisturizing take up the other minute.

Taking care of my skin is something I’ve worked hard at.  I’ve been through numerous products to find exactly what works for me, but in the end it’s all worth it.

Leave a Reply

