2012 Beauty Goals

I’m starting a “Bandwagon” series, so all those products/topics/etc around the blogosphere can be grouped into one.  Sometimes, jumping on a bandwagon can be a good thing 🙂

I felt like Fall 2011 was a good season for me in terms of makeup because I set my goals in summer and stuck to them.  I challenged myself, and I chose particular items I was looking to purchase.  I wound up with the confidence to wear red lipstick (here and here) and successfully grown in eyebrows.  I’d like to come up with a list of Spring/Summer goals sometime later this month.

Mission Accomplished.

As a whole for 2012, my goals are simple:

  1. Find a way to better organize.  Let’s face it, who doesn’t want a vanity? Or to use their counter space more appropriately?  I don’t know what kind of space I’ll have in our new digs, but I certainly want a setup that’s easier to use than my current over-the-toilet shelf and baskets.  Maybe some drawers? Maybe something outside the bathroom??? ::crosses fingers::
  2. Finish. Products. Hit pan. Discard something. And no, mascara doesn’t count.  I am horrible buying things and not using much of them.  I use them, but apparently not enough.  I can only recall hitting pan on eyeshadow and blush once and I’ve never actually finished one before.  Along the same lines…
  3. Use up skin care and face items that work perfectly fine before trying something new.  If it does the same thing, do I really need something new when I’m only half through my current cleanser/toner/moisturizer? No.  If the foundation and concealer give the same finish, do I need two more from different lines? No.  So use it up first.  This will be extremely difficult for me, because I love the look of new things and hate when they get messy.  I normally make it half-way and think I’ve done well.  But half-way is not enough!  This goes for mascara too.  2011 was a bad year for that and I need to learn my lesson.
  4. Avoid impulse buys.  I’m working on a “Need, Want, Drool from Afar” section and I’m planning to stick to it.
  5. Get color-matched by a MAC SA.  Never done it, but I’m curious.  And I’d like to find a must-have face product (I’m thinking powder/concealer?) to try out.  Please let me know your faves!

There you have it.  Simple goals that will save me time and money, and enforce some self-control.  I’ll keep you posted as I accomplish them.  Here’s to a beautiful new year!

6 thoughts on “2012 Beauty Goals

    • Thanks! Checked out your blog – love it! One of my (non-beauty) goals is to do more on my mommy part of my site to balance it out a bit. A little more intensive than the beauty section, but it can be done 🙂

  1. Love your list Alison! And thank you so much for checking in on me and my goals every day-I can’t tell you how much I appreciate it. A LOT. 🙂

Leave a Reply

