As Seen In – Getting Cheeky

I’m quickly learning that a “red lip” is not just a “red lip.”  It’s a whole new world of color to explore with a vast array of shades that give very different finished products.  A 1940s red lip with liquid liner is timeless, classy, and let’s face it – simplistically sexy.  Jessica of Getting Cheeky has one of those complexions that pulls this look off perfectly.  The pictures from her post  a few weeks ago featuring Chanel’s Dragon are enough to make anyone’s jaw drop.  This girl is also fluent in French which makes me want to Photoshop in the Eiffel Tower as a back drop (though I’m sure she has plenty of the real deal).

Jessica of Getting Cheeky wearing Chanel's Dragon

While we have two very different faces, I knew I had to study this look and put together one of my own.  How could I not?

I wanted a completely matte look to let a resounding red be the focal point.  Using theBalm’s Meet Matte palette for my eyes, I brushed Matt Smith from lashline to brow, Gallagher in the crease, and Ramirez in the outer 1/3 of the crease and outer V for just a hint of added definition.  Sonia Kashuk’s Jet Set liquid liner is along my upper lashline in a thin line to keep it more like Jessica’s and less “pin-up girl.”  I used Pixi’s Eye Bright liner  on my waterline to keep my eyes well…bright… then filled in my brows and set them with e.l.f. brow gel to look crisp and neat.  I don’t recall what mascara I used, but I did curl with my Ardell Heated Lash Curler.

The fun part of the look:  Revlon Matte Lipstick in Really Red came next.  The best part about this lipstick formula is that it isn’t dry at all despite being matte.  My natural lips are dry, easily chapped and unsmooth.  The trick I found is to brush my lips every morning after brushing my teeth.  Then apply Burt’s Bees Ultra Conditioning Lip Balm with Kokum Butter before beginning my makeup.  It conditions without sitting heavily on my lips and soaks in fast enough for me to apply lipstick in the next 10-15 minutes.

A sweep of Sonia Kashuk’s blush in Tawny and, voila!

Two consecutive looks with red lips?  Must be love.  I’ve never worn the classic 40’s face, but have big plans for thickening that liner to get a little more “pin-up” on my next night out.  If you’re looking for a blogger with taste, beauty and an ability to play with words, stop over at Getting Cheeky and say, “Bonjour!”

3 thoughts on “As Seen In – Getting Cheeky

  1. You are STUNNING! I love you in bold red lipstick. Against your dark hair this looks absolutely amazing.

    You’re such a doll! Reading this gave me warm fuzzies 🙂
    ❤ Jessica

  2. Pingback: 2012 Beauty Goals | A Glimpse Into the Life of Alison M

Leave a Reply

