12 Tags of Christmas – Day 2

Well, it happened.  I took one hit from the 12 Tags series and I’m officially addicted.  Completely obsessed is more like it.  After putting the kids to bed last night, I didn’t see my husband until he came up to our room and crawled under the covers.  By this point I was covered in ink and paint dabber, but it was all for a very good cause.

Tim’s inspiration of Tag 2:

(used with permission - click for source)

I loved the idea of using a tiny wreath and I have a set of three that have been sitting in my stash for-ev-er.  So I knew my entire tag would center around the use of one of those wreaths.  I don’t own the majority of the things Tim used this time around, but I have enough other tools to make do.  However, nothing seemed to fit with those wreaths.  So I did a little brainstorming about places I’ve seen wreaths and it hit me with a big fat “duh!”:

That door is the most in depth thing I’ve ever crafted from paper.  The entire door started out as plain white cardstock.  I used an Espresso paint dabber to create the wood grain, then used Walnut Stain Distress Ink to fill in for color. I cut out the two panels and colored them in as well.  I painted the hinges, sanded brads, and attached.  I used a snap for the handle and the stuck the wreath on top.

The tag itself was inked to create a smokey look, dry embossed, and inked again with multiple colors to look more like brick than checkerboard.

The “snow” was a bit disappointing.  After doing a little research I find I would have gotten a better effect if I had applied paint dabber first before adding color to the tag. Oh well, there’s always next time.  And I’m certainly not complaining 😉

Bring on Tag 3!

Leave a Reply

