12 Tags of Christmas – Day 1

This year I dove deeper into the world of Tim Holtz products and am so far in that I can’t see back.  But in this case, it’s a very (very!) good thing.  I found out about his 12 Tags of Christmas series from a local scrapbooking store and headed immediately to Tim’s blog.  All I can say is, “Whoa!”

I was totally excited by the idea of seeing step-by-step instructions on techniques using products Tim has designed.  My favorite thing about his line is that he makes every product so versatile.  Not one thing he created is limited to a single function.

After just today, I am in – hook, line, and sinker.  Here is the first tag Tim created this year for his series:

used with permission - click for source

My favorite technique was the use of wet embossing ink before dry embossing.  Absolutely blew my mind, so I knew I needed to give it a try.  I also really liked the dimension given by the pine cones and wanted to use something I already own.  Working with those two ideas, here is what I came up with:

I am very excited by the results.  It’s by far the most embellished tag I’ve ever made and I had a lot of fun trying the new ideas.  In retrospect, I wish I had done a circles dry emboss folder instead of the squares.  And I would swap out the joyful for large block letters spelling “JOY” and add a touch of the gold glitter instead of the glossy accents.  But overall I’m happy with it and surprised myself by creating the flower and adding the jingle bell to the bottom.

I’ve had so much fun, in fact, that I’m anxiously awaiting the next tag and have every intention of giving it a go!

Leave a Reply

