Homemade Lattes – Pumpkin Spice

I love a great cup of coffee.  It’s even better when it comes with the satisfaction of having made it myself.  And it’s better still when I can enjoy it on my patio while watching my kiddos play in the morning sunshine.  So I’ve been on the lookout for great recipes that will let me make my morning cup o’ joe with a little added flavor.

Fall means pumpkins and pumpkins mean the lovely pumpkin spice latte from Starbucks.  Last year I managed to find a recipe for syrup I can add to my own coffee.  This year, I went to the link and found it broken.  After drying my eyes, I began a massive search for a recipe that seemed familiar.

The how-to I recall was somewhere between Julie’s from SavvyEats and Foodiebride’s from JasonAndShawnda.  I remember the actual recipe I used calling for cheesecloth.  I also know it looked like a thinned out version of SavvyEat’s original syrup and that it had the same problem of settling at the bottom.  So in some unconventional ways I changed it up a bit to meet my “needs.” And yes, I have pumpkin spice latte needs.  Don’t you?

Alison M’s Pumpkin Spice Syrup

1 c. water
1/2 c. granulated sugar
1 Tbsp. ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp. ground cloves
1 tsp. ground nutmeg

But wait…where’s the pumpkin?  My recipe doesn’t call for any.  Gasp! I find that it worked without the pumpkin and I’ve never had any complaints about the flavor.  When I make these hot cups of delicious for guests, they can’t tell the difference.  So I save myself the trouble of using only 2 Tbsp of pureed pumpkin (or 3 Tbsp, or 1/3 c. which are the amounts I’ve found in other recipes if you’d like to add it to yours) and wasting the rest.  Plus, what’s the point of a recipe you love that doesn’t have your own flair?  Moving on.

Begin by putting the sugar into your coffee pot.  Then pour the water into the back of your coffee maker.  Line the basket with a paper filter, then add the remaining ingredients to the filter. And run the machine.  Unconventional yes, but this eliminates the mess of using cheesecloth and prevents the syrup from settling later on.  When the machine has finished “brewing” your syrup, swirl it around in the pot until the sugar has dissolved.  The remaining liquid in the filter can be discarded.  Then simply pour your syrup into an empty glass container and allow it to cool.  Store in the refrigerator.

Reduce Reuse Recycle.

Now having your festively fall beverage is simple, cost effective, and customizable.  To make your latte:

  1. Brew your coffee using whatever beans you prefer.  Make it a touch stronger than if you were brewing for plain coffee.
  2. Heat a small amount of milk (I have a preference for using whole milk), then froth.  I own an Aerolatte (the best Mother’s Day gift I have gotten and probably impossible to top) which happens to be recommended by GHRI.  If I had to change one thing, it would be easier to clean.  (The frothing end is like a spring.)
  3. Add your coffee.
  4. Pour in a little syrup.  I recommend trying it with 1 Tbsp.
  5. Add sugar and milk if desired.

It only takes a small amount of milk to get the froth you need.


Enjoy!

*If you happen to like the pumpkin spice but aren’t much of a coffee drinker, check out this yummy looking recipe for homemade chai.  On my list of things to try!

One thought on “Homemade Lattes – Pumpkin Spice

Leave a Reply

