NYX Eye Shadow Base w/ Pearl

While on the hunt for the perfect neutral eyeshadow palette, I came across a dilemma: matte or shimmer?  Let’s face it, we don’t like the same finish every day.  So this really posed a problem.  And there are plenty of palettes that include some of each, but none of them are exactly what I’m looking for.  I haven’t found my must-have palette (I’m waiting to see theBalm’s Nude ‘Tude in person), but I did find a simple way of solving my dilemma temporarily.

There has been a lot of buzz about MAC’s Glitter and Ice paint pots and I admittedly had no clue what they are until recently.  Jessica of Getting Cheeky was lovely enough to describe them for me in a Twitter conversation:

@GettingCheeky Are [Paint Pots] just super pigmented cream shadows?

@IamAlisonM Essentially. And they function as primers. Their texture is more cheesecake whereas cream shadows are more like pumpkin pie

So there you have it ladies.  For all who’ve been wondering what Paint Pots are, that’s about as good a description as I could ever hope to come by.

But back to the point.  This opened a whole new world to me…using a base/primer to change a shadow?!  Brilliant!  Okay, feel free to laugh.  But for someone who has never gone this deep into makeup, it’s very exciting.  And it prompted a trip to Ulta to look around for something that would turn my already-owned matte neutrals into the shimmers I’ve been looking for.

Behold, NYX Shadow Base in Pearl:

Swatched in low natural light

I used theBalm Meet Matt(e) Palette to show how matte shadows are affected by this particular pearl base.  Shades swatched are Smith, Gallagher, Ramirez, and Horowitz.  Each shade is swatched over the base and then alone.

Bright natural light with flash
Low natural light
Low artificial light with flash

Here I am wearing the pearl base under the first three shadows:

Natural light with low flash

Artificial light with bright flash
As you can see, this little jar packs some punch.  It gives an even shimmer to mattes to increase your shadow wardrobe.  A little goes a long way and it only costs $6.99 at Ulta.  While some day I might dive in to paint pots, for now I’m happy to have more textures in the shades I love.
One thought on “NYX Eye Shadow Base w/ Pearl

Leave a Reply

