Today’s Purchases

Hooray for buying a few oldies, a few newbies, and all goodies.

Re-Buys

Sonia Kashuk Hidden Agenda Concealer Palette:  This is the second time I purchased this little mix of concealers.  I have mixed feelings about it.  As a face concealer, I love it.  I’ve never come across another green neutralizer shade that works as well.  That alone is almost enough to re-purchase.  I say “almost” because my neutralizing needs are only around my nose and my foundation generally takes care of that.  But I’ve come to prefer mixing the concealer shades for my undereyes with certain foundations.  I will say that if you don’t like setting with powder, than skip this one altogether.  But if you don’t mind, then this may be the way to go.  Applying with my ring finger works far better than any other method.

L’Oreal Magic Perfecting Base:  This primer is also something I bought one other time.  I’m trying to figure out how to hide the pores on my nose.  With my usual foundation, I don’t have much of a problem.  But the second powder hits the tip of my nose, or if I use another brand, BAM!  Hellloooo yucky pores.  So I’m back to using the base there and a touch on the very inner corners of my cheeks where my pores also become visible.

New to Me

Sonia Kashuk Jet Set Liquid Liner: Every girl should own a black liquid liner.  Period.  It’s like owning a little black dress…you just do it.  I haven’t worn liquid liner in a long time because the last one I owned irritated my eyes.  And then I met gel liner and forgot liquid.  For awhile.  But I couldn’t stay away for long.  I love the firm felt tip of this liner, the intense black color, and the price.  I plan to repurchase whenever it is I run out.

L’Oreal Voluminous Mascara in Carbon Black:  This is apparently a very popular drugstore mascara, but one that I never tried until now.  I know fairly quickly whether or not I will like a mascara because I’m pretty set in my ways as far as wants and application go.  I’ve now worn it twice.  I don’t hate it, but it’s not HG.  I love that it delivers some serious black volume and doesn’t leave my lashes crunchy.  However, my curl lost height and I had to comb my lashes after applying so they didn’t look spidery.  Not the end of the world, but it’s an extra step and a little less oomph to my fringe.  I plan to keep this mascara in rotation, but it won’t be replacing my Maybelline Colossal or Falsies Flared.

I used all four of these products yesterday (obviously with a little help from a few others!) and am pleased with the results.

Really wanting to love this mascara!

I also had fun taking lots of pictures over the last five days to try out all the settings on my new camera (Canon PowerShot SX130IS).  I needed something higher quality than my old camera go take better pictures for blogging, scrapbooking, etc.  But I didn’t want to go as heavy-duty as Hubby’s with multiple lenses, flashes, and such.  Here’s a review someone wrote up on this camera.  From everything I’ve photographed (selfies, airshow, chalk fest, kids, flowers) I’m really happy with the results.

Leave a comment