Maybelline Volum’ Express Mascara One-by-One

A mascara that  “catches, coats and de-clumps each lash to make them all fatter and flirtier?”  Maybelline’s Volum’ Express One-by-One is put to the test.

A flexible, many bristled,  wand with the rubbery bristles that so many mascaras boast:

I’ve honestly never found a mascara with a rubbery wand that I like.  I’ve tried Cover Girl mascaras and never had much luck.  I think this is due to the formulas because this mascara surprised me, rubbery brush and all. I’m thinking these brushes work best for sparse lashes.  Do you agree?

It gives volume for sure, and it is buildable.  I don’t find it clumpy and it’s easy to apply.

Here it is, one coat. The other eye is bare for comparison:

And both eyes done with two coats:

uh oh... see the flaking? Maybe from combing.

Check out all those lashes!

The con I found to this mascara is that it did drop my a lot of my curl (you can tell in the second photo.  Both sides were curled). But I do have high expectations for curl, no pun intended!

While this is a great mascara for volume, the price is right, and it’s nice and black, I have to say I won’t buy it again.  Don’t get me wrong – I’ll finish the tube, but I’m still preferring The Falsies Black Drama for its curl and brush.  Definitely sticking with the Volum’ Express line though!

Which do you prefer?

Leave a Reply

